hello (again), world!

It was Halloween of 2013, and the blacktops of Main Street were flooded with rain, witches, ghosts, and the yellow creatures from that summer’s blockbuster, Despicable Me 2.

It was Halloween of 2013, and the blacktops of Main Street were flooded with rain, witches, ghosts, and the yellow creatures from that summer’s blockbuster, Despicable Me 2. On that night in sixth grade, as I picked my way through puddles and trick-or-treaters, filling my plastic pumpkin basket with handfuls of candy, I was asked again and again a question I’d never expected to hear addressed to me even once in my life: “Are you a minion?”

My answer was no. I had dressed up as myself: a bookworm.

My name is April (she/her), and I am a reader. In my everyday life, I’m not wearing a chartreuse, Pantone 2297 C-colored fleece onesie, but I am never without that essential accessory: a book.

I have loved reading ever since I was four, when I got off a plane from Shanghai and landed in sleepy New England, knowing only 23 letters of the alphabet. Growing up as one of the few Asian-Americans in my town, I felt lonely and out of place. But every Saturday, my parents would tote us downtown to the public library, and I’d devote myself to piles and piles of books. In the stories I consumed, I found belonging; I saw parts of myself embodied in the characters I read about.

I’ve been a voracious reader ever since then. I’ve found books featuring Asian-American characters, showing me I am not alone. I’ve found books that span countries and centuries and entire worlds, transporting me to new places and new people, showing me empathy and novel experiences. These stories taught me that I can be Asian and American, simultaneously, just as I and the characters I read about are made up of more than one label, are composed of the experiences and emotions we go through.

In 2015, I created my Bookstagram, @lostinthebookstacks, to share my passion for reading. This wonderful community is super special, and I’ve loved getting to interact with other bibliophiles online, and even at BookCon! It’s been a joy to talk with BookTubers, Bookstagrammers, book bloggers, authors, publishers, and more.

I first started book blogging in 2016, over on Wix. However, I’ve really missed the community that’s present here on WordPress, so I finally decided to switch over and I’m beyond excited to get to know all of you! This actually isn’t my first rodeo here on this site—back in middle school, I used to keep a personal WordPress blog. Coming back feels a lot like returning to a familiar place, and I’m so glad to be here again.

You can find more information on how to reach out to me through my “contact” page. If you want to learn more about me, check out my “about” page, and follow me on my socials! I’d love to make new friends. I also just launched my new BookTube channel, so subscribe to me on there for even more content!

Instagram: @lostinthebookstacks

Twitter: @aprilinthebooks

Goodreads: lostinthebookstacks

YouTube: lost in the bookstacks

Email: april.lostinthebookstacks@gmail.com

Author: april | lostinthebookstacks

hello! i'm april (she/her), an asian american reader who’s passionate about words and scallion pancakes.

2 thoughts on “hello (again), world!”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started